‘Makeover’ Music

Happy Monday, Gleeks! 🙂

Today the music for episode 4×03 called ‘Makeover’ was released. I swear, knowing that when I get home I can listen to the newest Glee tunes is what gets me though the day. It’s even better when the songs are good. Like these…take a listen 🙂

Everybody Wants To Rule The World (by Tears For Fears) sung by Blaine

The Way You Look Tonight/You’re Never Fully Dressed Without A Smile (by Frank Sinatra/from Annie) sung by Kurt, Isabelle and Rachel

Celebrity Skin (by Hole) sung by Brittany and Sam

A Change Would Do You Good (by Sheryl Crow) sung by Rachel and Brody

Mister Monotony (by Judy Garland) sung by Sue and Will

Okay so I don’t know why Glee is being a troll and not releasing the last song. Anyhoo, let’s talk about the other four. They’re good.

Blaine’s song is good. And catchy. My guess is that he sings it to advertise his campaign. So by ‘rule the world’ he means ‘be your class president and rule the school’. I get you, Blaine. 😛 This is an older song so I guess it’s RIB’s attempt to bring the show back to its Season 1 roots. Not that I mind. I mean, sure I like Glee’s cover of new songs, but Glee was known for giving old songs new life. Like songs my dad likes. So this is good.

Next is a mashup that features the vocals of Kurt, Rachel and…Isabelle Wright? Kurt’s new Vogue boss? She sings? Coolbeans. So let’s say Kurt and Isabelle are singing during work. That can make sense, right? So whyyyyy is Rachel in this too? Is she visiting Kurt at work? I need answers here! No one just goes to their friend’s work and sings songs with the boss. That’s weird. :S Anyhoo, the mashup is okay. Not the best but not awful. It’s very fashion related, which is good.

So remember last episode when Sam and Brittany had a cute little friendship moment? Well, it wasn’t just a one-episode story line. Because this song, a rocking duet between them, begs to differ. Sam and Brittany sing a really rock song. This is kind of a first for Glee because their songs aren’t really this….hard-core. Not that it’s a bad thing. It sounds like Brittany’s got a lot of rage going on here. Why?

The last song you can hear is a duet from Rachel and Brody. It’s a good song but I dislike the message because I am like 29472094% sure Brody is directing it to Rachel. And in her case, change is NOT good. However, speaking of Rachel and change, I read that Kurt gives Rachel a makeover. So good-bye knee socks and hello glamour? LOL remember last time Kurt gave Rachel a makeover and he turned her into a ‘sad clown hooker’. Ah, memories. So back to the song, Brody’s voice sounds a lot like Finn’s, I think. And also, he loses his accent when he sings. 😦

So that’s all. I’ll update this post when ‘Mister Monotony’ is released. 🙂 What are your thoughts on the songs?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kay H
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 20:11:28

    Well, I really liked “Everybody Wants To Rule The World” – because Darren Criss sings it and it is a very good version. I didn’t really care for Brittany and Sam’s song. The other songs were good too. But my favorite song will have to be Blaine’s. I hope he wins the election.

    Reply

  2. Rebecca Ripple
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 08:02:05

    Sorry for posting this as a seemingly off-topic comment here, but I couldn’t find any contact info to send this to. 😦 I hope you don’t mind it. 😛

    This is the “full performance” video for Celebrity Skin, and I’ve gotta say, I liked it more than just the audio, simply because I found it extremely difficult to make out the lyrics in the audio-only version (I have minor [and as of yet, unidentified] hearing problems), but in this video, I can read their lips and understand more of it than before. As you know from my previous comments :), Sam is by far my favorite character, and I love him to bits in this, even though I don’t get whether Sam is running against Brittany for class president, or if he is teamed up with her. And that raises still more questions, but I’ll just get to posting the link so you can do what you want with it on this AWESOME blog.

    Reply

    • Rebecca Ripple
      Sep 25, 2012 @ 08:03:48

      Oh, no! I didn’t realize it was going to display the video when I posted the link… I really hope you’re not gonna be angry at me for this… 😥 Sorries!

      Reply

      • pottergleefan4
        Sep 25, 2012 @ 15:56:38

        I’m not angry at all! 🙂 No worries. In fact, I’m honored that you wanted to share that with me! ❤
        Last night I had actually seen that (becuase you know, Glee can't release them BEFORE I blog them :S) so I was gonna post that on Wednesday along with a sneak peek and the answer to the confusion as to who is running. But thank you for the video. I guess anyone else who checks in here beforehand can watch it. 😛
        Anyhoo, aside from Sam being in it, did you like the song? Just based on the comments on Youtube, people HATE it. Like seriously hate it. I don't hate it. It wasn't thaaaat bad. :S

      • Rebecca Ripple
        Sep 25, 2012 @ 17:07:16

        It was very different from what Sam usually sings, but gosh, some people can be so harsh. They think hating on someone is fine if they will probably never see their harsh comments, like if they’re a celebrity, for example. I didn’t pay attention to the comments, but I’ll look ASAP. It’s pretty sad how people can believe bullying a celebrity is better than bullying a classmate or coworker. Celebrities may be rich and stuff, but above all, they’re human – no less so than you and me. Sheesh. 😦 (Sorry for the rant…!)

        Anyway, to answer your question: I’m sorry, but… I can’t look past the Sammyness! I’m too obsessed right now to focus on Brittany or the lyrics for very long. I’ll have to Google the lyrics later on to better understand the song itself. I had your warning that the song was, as you put it, “hard-core,” so I wasn’t caught off-guard by that. Thanks, by the way. 🙂 And yes, I usually read the post in full before watching any of the videos.

        Lastly, thanks for being so nice about the video. 🙂 I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: YOU ROCK. 😀

      • pottergleefan4
        Sep 25, 2012 @ 17:49:07

        NO YOU ROCK!!!
        Lol your ‘rant’ is true. But at the same time, saying that you dislike a version of a song is just an opinion. It’s different when you start saying that the singer sucks and all that jazz.
        🙂

      • Rebecca Ripple
        Sep 25, 2012 @ 18:08:20

        Oh, absolutely! I can respect peaceful statements of opinion, but when it turns into hate, that’s what gets me upset. I getcha. 🙂

  3. Rebecca Ripple
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 18:08:44

    And thanks, but you rock more! 😀

    Reply

Tell Me Your Secrets And Ask Me Your Questions... <3

