Glee Goes Grease….Again

So we all know that the school musical McKinley does this year will be Grease. 🙂 I was hoping for Mamma Mia because that’s just awesome and Glee’s already done some Grease songs, but I can’t say I’m disappointed with this choice. I’m not a big theater nerd (no offence) or anything so last year’s musical (West Side Story) was lame in my opinion. I had no idea what the musical’s plot was or who the characters were so I was a bit confused. But everyone knows Grease (I hope).

So first is the cast. Here’s a picture of some official looking board with the cast list is. I’m not sure where this picture came from or how legit it is. I’m guessing it’s the real shizz but….take a look. 🙂

Glee Glease Board

I guess Marley is the obvious lead. I’m excited to hear Kitty sing. I know she won’t get the lead, but I wonder why she’s trying to get it anyways? Maybe an attempt to get back at Jake and hurt Marley? Ryder Linn, played by TGP winner Blake, is also in the running for the male lead, Danny. I’m pretty sure he doesn’t get it and Jake takes it.  The casting for Cha-Cha and Frenchy is brilliant. Rizzo may be an issue because I can’t see Unique trying to get with Jake and Sam. I am loving Blaine’s role. I wish he had a bigger role because last year he was male lead and now he gets one song and scene, but I think he’ll do great with it! 😀

  

Although, based on the last two pics, it looks like Ryder may be Danny, the male lead…. What would you guys prefer? Jake or Ryder as Danny?

Glee is releasing a Glee Grease Album called ‘Glease’. I’m still on the fence with if that’s too cheesy or clever. :S

The official track list is as follows. Based on the roles above, here’s who’ll be singing what, but I wrote the list of singers based purely on the actual Grease movie.

  • ‘Hopelessly Devoted To You’ sung by Marley as Sandy
  • ‘Born To Hand Jive’ sung by whole cast
  • ‘Greased Lightning’ sung by Jake/Ryder as Danny, Joe as Doody, Sam as Kenickie, and Mike Chang as ???.
  • ‘Look At Me I’m Sandra Dee’ sung by Unique as Rizzo, Sugar as Frenchy and Tina as Jan
  • ‘Beauty School Drop Out’ sung by Blaine as Teen Angel
  • ‘Look At Me I’m Sandra Dee (reprise)’ sung by Marley as Sandy
  • ‘There Are Worse Things I Can Do’ sung by Unique as Rizzo
  • ‘You’re The One That I Want’ sung by Marley as Sandy and Jake/Ryder as Danny
  • ‘Summer Nights’ sung by Marley as Sandy and Jake/Ryder as Danny

These songs will be released a few days before the episode. 🙂 So what do y’all think about the episode so far, the songs and the cast? I think it’ll be very fun. Mike will have a part in this too, I think Santana may, and I heard that Cassandra may too….?

That’s all for now. If I get any more Grease info, I’ll be sure to share. 🙂

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hiaudrey
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 17:05:39

    hi. This may be the stupid dorky question. And maybe you already answered it but i didn’t see it. Why is glee off for all this time? I mean there has to be some explination. And can you believe… I havn’t heard of grease.. well i dont really know the plot. But I AM only im middle school 🙂

    Reply

    • pottergleefan4
      Oct 11, 2012 @ 17:20:23

      No that’s a legit question. I guess there could be several answers.
      I think it’s because Glee has 22 episodes in the season so if they went 22 weeks consecutively, it’d end in February. The story line on Glee follows a school year so it must end later than February, like our school year does.
      Another reason is that filming takes a while. Glee is way more complex than normal sit-coms or TV shows because of the music and dancing and stuff. Filming takes lot of time so these breaks give them time to film and catch up.
      Of course, there may be other reasons, too…idk.
      Here’s what I COMMAND that you do. Go to your local library. Search for the Grease DVD. Check it out. Watch it. Love it. 😉

      Reply

  2. Kay
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 11:14:58

    The reason they are taking this break until November 8 is because of the baseball playoffs and the National Election.

    Looking forward to “Glease” and seeing the Glee gang again. It is going to be a long month!

    I’m still bummed about the “Break Up” episode. I hope all the couples are reunited by the end of the season, especially Kurt and Blaine (my OTP).

    Reply

    • pottergleefan4
      Oct 12, 2012 @ 15:57:01

      Maybe you’re right about the reasons. I was just guessing 😛
      I can’t wait for the episode. I want to more about the plot, aside from the Grease part. 😀 Finn and Ryder are going to have some scenes together so I’m excited. And seeing Mercedes and Mike again will be great. I heard we get some new info on Mike and Tina’s breakup.

      Klaine is also my OTP (as is Finchel) and I want to know what’s in store! I can’t stand not knowing if my people aren’t going to be okay! :S

      Reply

    • hiaudrey
      Oct 12, 2012 @ 18:40:17

      thanks and thanks pottergleefan4

      Reply

Tell Me Your Secrets And Ask Me Your Questions... <3

