‘Land Of Stories: The Wishing Spell’ Book Review

No this is not a random book that I’m telling you about. This book was written by the genius whose name is Chris Colfer. Aside from playing Kurt on Glee, he writes books and movies and I think a kid’s TV plot or something.

His first book, ‘The Land Of Stories: The Wishing Spell’, which I will refer to a TLOS:TWS because there’s no way that I’m typing the full thing out all the time, was great. I read it not last week, but the week before and there was other news to share first so that’s why this review was late.

My local library didn’t have this book so I asked the librarian to order it. They’ll do it, if you’re wondering; they’re always glad to see a young person enjoying books! So when the book came, I got it first. I have to admit, it was a bit sceptical because it seemed to be a cheesy book. It’s about fairy tales, but I decided to give it a try. I had heard that it was a fabulous book. At first, while reading it, it wasn’t the best. It was the kinda book that I could stop reading cold turkey and not stay up at night wondering how it ends. The end of chapters didn’t have large cliff hangers and it wasn’t very suspenseful. But as it progressed, it got soooooo much better. By the last quarter of the book, I was dying to read more! They way Chris had all the fairy tales intertwined was absolutely brilliant. It makes so much sense in the book. He really thought things through and it paid off because I was blown away. If you’ve read the book, you know what I mean.

So here’s what TLOS:TWS was about (without giving too much away). Eleven year old twins Alex (girl) and Connor (boy) are gifted a large book of fairy tales that had been in the family for a while. They end up falling into the book and land in a magical world where all the fairy tales are real. And to get out, they must find the items needed to make the Wishing Spell and wish their way home. But naturally, that can’t be easy and the twins almost die like five times. But it’s not a scary death book at all so don’t be turned off by that!

So here’s what I didn’t like about the book. I mean no offence, I’m simply stating my opinion. One thing I disliked was that Alex and Connor were total opposites. Alex was the emotional smart girl with no friends and Connor was a the dumb class clown with many pals. I’ve met three sets of twins in my life. And they were pretty much the same. Same likes and dislikes, same friends, same everything. Of course, all three sets I’ve met had the same genders but that shouldn’t matter. But I guess Chris wrote them like that so they could balance each other out. Another thing I disliked was that the plot was a bit predictable. You know that no matter how many times the twins got injured, they’d never die. No one would kill off the main characters, never mind the fact that they were twins. The last thing I didn’t like was that the beginning of the book was slow and not very exciting. Then again, that may have been because the book I had finished half an hour before I started TLOS:TWS was absolutely AMAZING (‘The Fire Ascending’ from The Last Dragon Chronicles….anyone read them? They’re great!).

For those who have read it, this is for you. You know at the part where Alex and Connor decided that their father MUST be from the Land Of Stories? I was like 100000000% sure that their father was Prince Charlie, the lost Prince. I was so proud of myself for figuring that out. Then I flipped back in the book to where their mom was ‘talking’ to their father and she called him John. And then I kept reading and found out who Prince Charlie turned out to be. And it also made sense….. Did anyone else have the same thoughts as me and thought it was their father at one time?

Now as a girl in many fandoms, I’m always looking for little things that connect my fandoms together. Here’s what I found in TLOS:TWS…
1. On page 197, when Alex and Connor find the glass slipper in Alex’s bag even though they didn’t take it, Connor says, “Do you think it was magic?…Maybe the slipper knew we needed it and transported itself into you bag?” It’s like in Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows part 2 when he found sword of Godric Gryffindor in the forest pool and he tells Griphook that “It presented itself to us in a time of need.” I know he probably didn’t do that on purpose, but Chris Colfer is a HP fan so maybe….?
2. On page 372, when the twins are captured and are sure they’ll die, Connor decided to say his goodbyes to his twin and Alex says, “Don’t do that Connor…You’re saying good-bye! Don’t say good-bye! We’re going to be okay.” That part reminded me of Kurt and Blaine and Kurt’s promise to never say good-bye to Blaine.
3. On page 434, at the end of the book, the twins learn something really cool about their family and Alex, who is always very emotional, says, “And I’m trying not to cry” which is a lyric from ‘To Have A Home’ which is sung (and written) by Darren Criss as Harry Potter in A Very Potter Sequel. It is a fact that Chris Colfer had seen AVPM before Darren joined the Glee cast as Blaine but I’m not sure about AVPS. It’s likely, but like every other thing I’ve pointed out, could be purely a coincidence!

So that’s my thoughts on TLOS:TWS. It was a good book.The writing was good and Conner’s lines were often funny. The book also has this neat fold-out map…which I only just found as I wrote this LOL. I give it a 8 out of 10. And I think there may be a sequel in the future. I’m excited for that but there’s been no word on when it’ll come out. If you have read it, I’d love to hear what you thought. If you have not read it, I demand that you do and then tell me what you think. 🙂
That’s all for now!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kay
    Oct 19, 2012 @ 19:14:47

    I watched an interview Chris Colfer did with Jimmy Fallon when he was promoting his book “The Land of Stories…” and he sure has a wild imagination. He was telling about the different fairy tales and how he thinks they would “continue” (because you know how fairy tales always end – usually “happily ever after.” and he would always think of a different ending than the original. He is very witty in interviews. He does seem like he has a good sense of humor and always has a comical story to tell. Whether they are true or not I don’t know. Yes, I believe he said he is writing the sequel to “The Land of Stories” but not sure when it will come out. I think his book deal required him to write several books to fulfill the commitment so that is why he is writing the second book. And he has a film coming out in November of December (Struck by Lightning) and a young-adult book is coming out at the same time with the same title (or maybe it has been published already – not sure about that). I have the book, “The Land of Stories” but have not completed it yet.

    I know Chris Colfer is a fan of Darren’s work in the AVPM and AVPS musicals. He has mentioned that in several interviews. So he may have inadvertently included some of the things he has seen into his books. It would be hard not to do that I would think. You know how things can stick in your head and when you are writing something it most likely will appear in the writing without you even realizing it.

    Reply

    • pottergleefan4
      Oct 19, 2012 @ 19:42:22

      I would love to hang out with Chris Colfer for a day. He seems so funny all the time. 😀
      I am so freakin’ excited for Struck By Lightning. It looks so funny and the plot is pretty good. I wish I knew when it was coming out. :S

      Reply

Tell Me Your Secrets And Ask Me Your Questions... <3

