The Newbies

We’re approaching the eighth episode of Glee’s fourth season. That means we’ve had plenty of time to meet and get comfortable with the new characters: Marley, Jake, Ryder, Kitty and Brody. They were a big change for Glee that wasn’t totally welcomed by everyone. I’ve seen people who love the newbies. They adore Marley or idolize Ryder. Even Kitty, who most of us dislike, has some fans. Then there are other people who HATE the new characters. They think they’re all annoying or just cheap replacements for the graduates who we’ve seen less of. I mean, I have to agree a bit there. Kitty is like a Quinn, Marley is like a Rachel, Ryder is like a Finn, and Jake is like a Puck. But they aren’t exactly the same.

I don’t dislike the new characters. I mean, sure I love the original characters more. I miss Mike’s dance moves we saw every episode. I miss Santana’s snarky remarks every episode. I miss it all. But guess what, folks! It had to happen. They had to graduate. I think we’d all be a bit more upset if they simply stayed in highschool for ever. Some of us Gleeks already think that Glee isn’t very realistic so this would be even worse. So Glee decided to do what makes sense and bring in some new characters when the older ones leave. Besides, if they didn’t ND wouldn’t be able to compete because they need 12 members.

So because I love hearing people’s opinions, especially when they range so far, I have two polls for y’all to do. And if you have any further thoughts, leave a comment! 😀

Bye!

P.S.    I think Jane Lynch is on Ellen today!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. seriesdaily
    Nov 28, 2012 @ 17:49:50

    Those are some tough voting choices … I went with “They’re cool” but I do have to say, they remind me a lot of our old and beloved characters. I really hope they’ll get more depth during the rest of the season. I’m okay with it the way it is right now. But assuming Glee will be on for another three or four (or even more) seasons, what will they do? We’ll probably love these new characters by then, but they will have left and there will be even newer ones. I’m not sure how often that’ll work and how they’ll keep bringin everyone back once in a while. I really see a problem there!

    For the favourite character I voted Marley and Brody … But actually all of them except Kitty are likeable I guess. I can’t even decide if I prefer Jake or Ryder as a new bf for Marley … I think I still need some time to get used to them …

    Reply

    • pottergleefan4
      Nov 28, 2012 @ 18:30:38

      Yeah if Glee has another season, they’ll need even more new people because Tina and Artie and the current seniors will be graduating this season. I think the people who hate the new characters have to kinda get over themselves because it’s inevitable.
      I agree with what you said about who Marley should date. I used to like Jake but then came Ryder so I dunno. Right now I’m leaning toward team Myder or whatever their name is. 😛

      Reply

  2. Kay
    Nov 28, 2012 @ 19:24:08

    Well, I like the new characters for the most part. They don’t really remind me of the previous characters. I think they are all unique in their own way. I must admit I am not a fan of Kitty and haven’t since she first came. She reminds me of Sue, and I don’t really care for Sue (I don’t really like bullies, and Sue is the biggest bully of all and Kitty is right behind her). I do admit I like the current seniors (Blaine, Artie, Tina, Brittany, and Sam – I’m not sure if Sugar is a senior or a junior) and when they graduate, I hope they will be recurring characters just like Finn, Kurt, Rachel, and Santana are. I don’t mind the ones who graduate to come back and visit. I live close to Lima, Ohio and my hometown is very small and we have people come back to our school for school productions and alumni banquets etc. so it is normal to see recent grads or others coming back for visits. So I really don’t see a problem with that. I am looking forward to tomorrow night’s “Thanksgiving” episode with Sectionals performances. Mostly I want to hear what Kurt says to Blaine in their phone call. Blaine and Kurt are my favorite Glee characters, and I care very much what happens to them and their relationship status.

    Reply

    • pottergleefan4
      Nov 28, 2012 @ 19:36:39

      I guess it’s just a matter of opinion…and that’s why I have those polls!
      But I think we can all agree that Kitty is mean. It’s like she’s Sue’s crazy relative or something. :S
      Ahhh tomorrow is what’s been getting me though this week. Nothing fails to make me smile like Glee!

      Reply

Tell Me Your Secrets And Ask Me Your Questions... <3

