‘Struck By Lightning: The Carson Phillips Journal’ Book Review

“Life comes at you fast. It hits you and tries to escape and be expressed in any way possible. In a way, it’s a lot like lightning.”

That’s the famous quote from Chris Colfer’s Struck By Lighting. If you know anything about SBL, you may be thinking, ‘Wait…isn’t it a movie???’ Yes, you’re right. It is a movie. In brief, Chris wrote and starred in a movie called Struck By Lightning. I’ll touch more on the movie details later, but for now, I want to talk to you about the book that goes with the movie.

I got the book from the library after waiting for about a month. Finally it came in yesterday….and I read it all yesterday too. It was hilarious. I was laughing from the very first line. The book is all from the POV of Carson. And let me tell you, Carson is so funny. He is sarcastic and his opinions of people are so amusing. Not to mention side characters, like Malerie (played by Rebel Wilson in the movie) is so loveable. Another great thing about the book is that at the back, it has pictures from the movie so I can put a face to the name.

Here’s a quick, non-spoiler summary of the plot: Carson Phillips is an aspiring writer stuck in a town full of stupid people. So in order to get into the University of his choice and ditch the losers, he starts a literary magazine, but in order to get people to submit work, be blackmails his peers.

Overall, I found the book really good. Aside from the hilarity, the characters are all round. You’d think Carson is a heartless person but then there are little bits of emotion and sweetness. You see the same with a few other characters too. And the plot is actually brilliant. How Carson manages to blackmail everyone is quite smart. One thing I was surprised about, however, was the language in the book. It was a bit…..salty. But it is a young adult book so don’t go gifting it to your eleven year old sister. Another thing I really liked in the book was that there was an actual part of it where we can read the literary magazine. That was very clever.

I think I’ll deffo re-read this book as I still have two weeks as six days before it’s due back at the library and so far, no has a hold on it. I really liked the book and I give it a 8.5 out of 10. I have to say I was a bit disappointed in the ending even though I knew what was coming (He dies. Don’t get mad, I didn’t spoil it; that was known before the movie premered at the Tribecca Film Festival last April). But it was hilarious from page one to page two hundred fifty-eight and I highly recommend reading it. Once again, that genius Chris Colfer has produced a hit. 😀

Now about the movie. Last I heard, the movie would be out in 2012. Apparently as of last month, it’s on Video On Demand and, if you live in the states, iTunes. So for me, a lame old Canada dweller, it’s not. Then I heard that it’d be in theaters on January 11th, but I’ve been checking the websites of my local theaters, and they have no record of it even though they can tell me what’s coming in 2015. So I have no idea when the release date for anywhere but the USA is and I apologize. If you have any info, tell me. I think it’s also online already on those movie streaming sites. I want to see the movie really bad. The trailers look hilarious and now that I’ve read the book, I want to see it all!

If you want to see the trailers, look here:


I’ve seen these several times each and I still laugh every time. So that’s about it. Have any of you read the book (or seen the movie)? If yes, tell me what you thought and if no, tell me if you plan on reading it.

P.S. So Chris’ character is named Carson Phillips and in Little White Lie, Darren’s character is named Toby Phillips….coincidence? ;P

P.P.S. Another Starkid thing…Lauren Lopez is in the movie. She plays the leader of the Celibacy Club. Her name is even in the SBL book at the end, in the Acknowledgements. 🙂

Tell Me Your Secrets And Ask Me Your Questions... <3

