‘Archie Meets Glee Part 1’ Book Review

It’s the ultimate fandom crossover for me. I was reading Archie Comics before Glee was just an idea in Ryan Murphy’s mind. I have a shelf in my room literally jam-packed with Archie comics and I’ve read them all probably 30+ times. That’s how much I love Archie Comics. So when I heard that Glee, my numero uno fandom and all-time fave TV show was doing a crossover with Archie, I was soooooo super excited. Like you-have-no-idea how excited I was. It came out March 6th but I went to the book store near me twice and it wasn’t there so I was expecting to wait a bit. But then today, when my family took a quick trip to Walmart, I found this:

glee archie 1

So after internally screaming, I bought it. I waited until I got home to read it (reading it in a moving car ruins the experience). So, about twenty minutes ago, I read it for the first time.

AND I LOVED IT. All the characters were so adorable and the plot was neat. It was also evident that Glee’s writers wrote the Glee characters’ lines because they were so perfect and funny and everything from the scenes to the characters’ outfits was spot on!

Now, this is only Part 1 of 4 so it was mostly introductions. I knew the whole history of everything on the Archie side of things, but for someone who is reading it for the Glee parts, it’s a good overview. There were some neat and ironic things pointed out that connect the two parts like both Rachel and Veronica have fathers named Hiram, that both Mercedes and Jughead have the last name of Jones, and how there are Glee characters with similar personalities to Archie characters. It was quite interesting.

Maybe it’s just because I’m such a die-hard Gleek and a blogger so it’s now second nature for me to notice things, but I found a few things that weren’t wrong, per se, just not how I would have done it, if that makes sense. For one, I was a bit disappointed that Will Schuester didn’t have a butt chin. I mean, that’s one of his main jokes so I would have liked to see it. Also, in one frame (there’s some comic language for you!) we see Blaine and Kurt talking and Blaine was taller than Kurt, which is not right. Also, on the topic of Blaine, out of all the Glee characters, he’s the one who probably looks least like the real Blaine. He was still recognizable as Blaine, though. But I’m not sure why they drew him wearing suits. It’s like the Dalton blazer but not…. Also, in another frame, they show some Glee characters singing ‘Sit Down You’re Rocking The Boat’ but Finn is singing with them, which he shouldn’t be because that was before he was in the group. Those are just the little things I noticed.

But overall, it was great. Very clever and very cute. Even if you’ve never read an Archie Comic, you should deffo read this because like I said, it’s the ultimate fandom crossover. I can’t wait for Part 2. I’m not 100% sure, but I’m guessing it’ll come in a month or so.

Have you read Archie Meets Glee Part 1 yet? What did you think? Are you an Archie fan or not? Tell me!

In other news that doesn’t apply to Archie or Glee really, Starkid’s final Harry Potter musical, A Very Potter Senior Year (or AVPSY for short) is FINALLY coming to Youtube. We’ve only been waiting for years! Yes, this Friday, March 15 2013, we’ll be going back to Hogwarts one last time for an epic closing to the musicals (AVPM and AVPS) that rejuvenated the fandom. I am so excited. I read the script the day it came out (December 15th!) and it was just PERF so now we get to see the musical in all it’s silly, musical glory. Well, I guess it does relate to Glee a bit because Darren Criss stars in it (literally, he plays Harry). Anyways, for you Starkids out there, it’s been an honor waiting with you and I can’t wait until Friday. IT’LL BE TOTALLY AWESOME! ❤

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    May 22, 2013 @ 20:14:16

    So I have never really read Archie… Don’t know any of the story or anything.. BUT I LOVE GLEE!!!!!! Can I read this and still enjoy it?

    Reply

    • pottergleefan4
      May 22, 2013 @ 20:25:16

      Yes you can. In the first part, they explain a lot to you so you get a feel for the characters and their personalities.
      There isn’t really a story to know anyways. It’s just the characters.
      Archie is the cool redheaded heartthrob that everyone loves.
      Jughead is Archie’s pal who is a lazy girl-hating guy who loves to eat, but had a kind heart.
      Veronica is the rich girl who loves Archie. She’s often arrogant,
      Betty is Veronica’s BFF, she also loves Archie. She’s a smart, kind blonde who’s basically the perfect person, but she gets stepped on a lot.
      Reggie is the class clown. He’s kinda the second choice with Veronica.
      Dilton is the quiet nerdy kid who is super smart.
      If you have any more questions, lemmie know 🙂
      And I hope you enjoy the comics!

      Reply

Tell Me Your Secrets And Ask Me Your Questions... <3

