‘Lights Out’ Songs!

Happy New Music Monday, everyone! Okay, maybe that’s not the official term, but when the music came out of Friday, the term was ‘First Listen Friday’ so ‘New Music Monday’  should be the new title. Yes? Okay. Anyways, all the new songs today are all interesting. I can’t say I love them all, but it’s not awful. As you know, in the episode, the power goes out so ND is convinced to try some acoustic songs. So take a listen 🙂

‘Everybody Hurts’ (by R.E.M.) sung by Ryder

‘At The Ballet’ (from A Chorus Line) sung by Santana, Kurt, Isabelle and Rachel

‘For The Longest Time’ (by Billy Joel) sung by Artie, Kitty, Marley, Ryder, Jake and Sam

‘We Will Rock You’ (by Queen) sung by Artie, Blaine, Ryder and Jake

‘Little Girls’ (from Annie) sung by Sue

‘You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin” (by The Righteous Brothers) sung by Sam and Ryder

The first song is not one unknown to Blake (who pays Ryder), who sang ‘Everybody Hurts’ for the music video in episode 2×03 ‘Vulnerability’ of The Glee Project. Why is Ryder singing it though? I don’t think it has anything to do with Katie, because I don’t think that’s addressed until the finale, but maybe I’m wrong. He sings it well, though :S

Isabelle is back and she has an interesting song with our New Yorkers, Rachel, Santana and Kurt. I’m not a huge fan of the song. Maybe it’s because there is more talking than singing. Either way, I gotta say that one note at the end is brilliant. 🙂

The third song is my fave of the episode, hands down. I’m glad Artie finally gets some more spot light and the song itself is great. My one issue, and I’m mentally slapping Glee for not doing this, is that this would be GREAT song for the Warblers. I think Sebastian or even Hunter would nail the song. I mean, Artie Kitty, Marley, Ryder, Jake and Sam do a fantastic job with it, but it screams WARBLERS to me 😉

Another Queen song is featured on Glee! Again Artie has some spotlight, which is good. They do a good job with the song, but it’s nothing special if you ask me. It’s good, not awesome.

Sue gets a solo for the first time in a long time. But I gotta say, it’s weird. I’ve never seen Annie so maybe that’s why I think so, but out of all the songs, you have Sue sing that? But I have to admit, despite the weirdness of the song, she does a fine job with it. It’s just weird. Like is she upset that she has a baby? I don’t get it.

The last song is sung by Sam and Ryder. Oh PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE let this be a Bram breakup song. Please. Either way, they sing it quite well, but like ‘We Will Rock You’, it’s nothing spectacular.

So those are all the songs. What do you think? Should ND stick to acoustic or no? What’s you fave song? Least fave song? TELL ME! 🙂 Bye for now!

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rebecca Ripple
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 14:36:05

    It’s interesting that Sue’s on-screen mom was played by Carol Burnett, who in turn sang “Little Girls” in the 1982 movie version of Annie. Isn’t that interesting? Lol…

    The original movie version, in case you wanna see it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cDkEXszYtdo

    Reply

Tell Me Your Secrets And Ask Me Your Questions... <3

