Cory Monteith, Age 31, Dead

A day ago, if you had asked a Gleek what the worst thing that could happen to them, their answer may have been along the lines of ‘Glee ending’. Unfortunately, in the past few hours, us Gleeks have had to come to terms with the harsh reality that there is something worse than a show ending: a life ending.

Last night, Glee’s own Cory Monteith was found dead in his hotel room in Vancouver. He was supposed to check out at a certain time, but when he didn’t someone went up and found him dead. He was pronounced dead at 10:28 PM, I think, which is why I didn’t get the news until this morning. Waking up to floods of Tweets and articles and posts and messages is not a fun thing, let me tell you. And if you’ve had no idea that this all happened, I hate that I’m the one to break the news. It was weird because 13 minutes before he was pronounced dead, he had tweeted something about a Shark Tornado…IDK maybe a hockey reference or something…but that’s the last thing we’ll ever have from him…

They say it was drug overdose. I thought that after he came out of self-admitted rehab a few months ago, that this wouldn’t happen, but alas… There is an autopsy scheduled for tomorrow. It’s kind of sad though, that the rehab didn’t help. I guess it’s a lesson for us all, not to ever turn to drugs because it affects even the best of us.

Man, I’m in tears as I write this. I was a mess this morning. I thought it was a joke, at first. But when I read more into it, I realized, no, it’s true. He is dead. I guess saying that helps the reality set in. I’ve been kinda numb all day. Social media is a mess, too. Trends on Twitter are still going strong, and I’m afraid to even think about Tumblr. But I must say that the feeling of unity between us is super strong now. Just reading through people’s tweets and knowing exactly how they feel is something kind of extraordinary. Another thing that is quite nice is that other fandoms have been a shoulder for us Gleeks. Directioners, Belieber, Lovatics, Potterheads, and more have all offered their support because in a way, we’re all connected. They know what it’s like to be a fan.

It’s also super sad to see celebs speak their regards. When the news first came out, Mark Salling had the first word, his tweet being one word: “no”. That tweet was later deleted. Since then, many stars have shown their love for Cory, his family, the cast, and Lea especially.

I can’t even begin to imagine what Lea is going through. She was dating him, for goodness sakes. I heard that she’s been a mess and that her rep asked for privacy, which is understandable. They were so cute together and now….I hope she’ll be okay. She has great friends and awesome fans and I hope she knows that we support and her and love her so much.

Glee is going to be different now. It’s all going to be different. I’ve heard that maybe cancelling Glee is a possibility, but that’s unlikely, if you ask me. It’s not what he would have wanted. I’ve also heard, just speculation of course, that Lea may quit. I guess that’s understandable, but would she? Filming was set to resume next week, but that could be changed. Let’s say Glee goes on. We will never get another Finchel scene ever again.. That’s only just hitting me. The Glee writers need to think of a way to get rid of Finn in a way that won’t make the fandom more upset. My guess is that they’ll kill him off. I know it sounds harsh and the opposite of the word Glee, but it’s the only way that they could get rid of him in a way that won’t leave his story line open. So they’ll probably say Finn had a freak accident or a car crash, have a funeral and after a few episodes, move on to normally scheduled plot. I guess it’s best that this happened before they got into filming and not during the season.

Death isn’t always a time for mourning, it’s a time for remembrance and thinking positive. Some people have come up with cute little messages that, despite the fact that the screen is blurry thanks to my tears, made me smile. Here they are:

“He didn’t die, he took the midnight train going anywhere.”

“I bet Michael Jackson is up there teaching him how to dance.”

“The next time you hear thunder, just know it’s Cory up there drumming.”

Well, that’s about it. I don’t really know what to say. Cory was a sweet, adorable guy who is a big part of Glee. Even if you disliked Finn, or Finchel, you had to admit that Cory was okay. Cory will live on in our hearts. I know the pain is bad now, and it will be for a while, but just know that it’s worse for others. I’m so glad to be a part of a fandom as awesome as you Gleeks because we’re all helping each other out, and that’s pretty amazing. I never met Cory, but I’m Canadian, like him. It was a big loss for Canada, Glee, and the world. If you need someone to talk to, you know where to find me. ❤ I was thinking of doing a ‘best of Finn’ post, but would that hurt too much? In a few weeks, my family and I are going to Vancouver… I’m not so excited now….Stay strong, Gleeks.

Please keep Cory, his family, the entire Glee cast and Lea Michele in your prayers/hearts.

Don’t Stop Believin’ and Keep Holding On

Cory Monteith
May 11, 1982 – July 13, 2013
Forever In Our Hearts
RIP

 

 

Update
Results of the autopsy say that his death was caused by a mix of heroin an alcohol….

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. littlemissobsessivesanatomy
    Jul 14, 2013 @ 15:24:34

    its heartbreaking….i have been thinking about Lea all day… Glee wont be same…

    Reply

  2. Joy
    Jul 14, 2013 @ 17:26:18

    Forever in our hearts indeed, I’m so sad!

    Reply

  3. Rebecca Ripple
    Jul 14, 2013 @ 19:55:03

    I found out this morning, too, on Facebook. I’m on Skype video chat with my mom and we’re so sad about this terrible loss. This is gonna be a huge roadblock for Glee, even if they do keep going, which I think they should, in Cory’s memory. They should do some sort of tribute to him, I think. He was, after all, a main star of the show, second only to Lea/Rachel.

    Mom’s playing old YouTube videos of him singing on Glee. 😥 Grief hurts. A lot.

    Reply

    • pottergleefan4
      Jul 14, 2013 @ 19:58:04

      I’m curious to see how (or if) Glee will work around this. I want them to go on with the show. How awful would it be if aside from losing him, we lose it all too? He was a star and they need to recognize that, though…
      I made a whole Cory playlist, but I’m too scared to listen to it…

      Reply

      • Rebecca Ripple
        Jul 14, 2013 @ 20:04:05

        I know what you mean. Oh, boy. There’s gonna be a gaping hole in the show. I feel so terrible for Lea, who I heard would have married him two weeks from then. As a friend of mine said, she was planning a wedding and now has to plan a funeral… OMG…

      • pottergleefan4
        Jul 14, 2013 @ 20:16:01

        I had heard about the wedding thing but I don’t know where that rumor came from…

  4. susanaj22
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 09:23:59

    Reblogged this on VINTAGE PHOTOS.

    Reply

  5. gr8star51
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 11:58:31

    Cory was one of the reasons I started watching Glee. My first episode was Furt. I had no clue what the plot was, and my mom just told me to keep watching. I fell in love with the show, Rachel, Finn, and Kurt within that first episode. To think that Finchel is dead… to think what his family and friends are going through, to think of the self-blame Lea is probably thinking about right now…
    I will always remember him.
    First thing I saw on tumblr when he died was a clip of ‘Don’t Stop Believing’.
    All I could think about was ‘Keep Holding On’.
    Goodbye, Cory Monteith.

    Reply

    • pottergleefan4
      Jul 15, 2013 @ 12:23:18

      Aww, ‘Furt’ is one of my favourite episodes…
      I can’t imagine what his friends and family, Lea especially, are going through. I just want to hug them all…
      Thanks for the comment, it was really beautiful ❤

      Reply

  6. Callie Jones
    Jul 18, 2013 @ 10:46:42

    It’s so sad to hear about the passing of Cory. I have watched Glee since it’s beginning at it is amazing how Cory had grown and changed as an actor. I hope the show does return.. it is a great show that has come to be loved by so many. But with that being said.. it will never be the same. I just can’t even imagine how the writers will make the story work. It is all just so sad. And no matter what the writers decide to do it will never be the same Glee that we have grown to love over the past four seasons. I don’t even know if I will even be able to watch it anymore.. just so so sad. R.I.P Cory!

    Reply

    • pottergleefan4
      Jul 18, 2013 @ 10:50:24

      I know how you feel. I’m in the same position as you, seeing Cory grow over the years. It is sad….
      I don’t know how they’ll work it, but I have faith in the writers. They’ll work something out…I hope. I’d hate to lose the show too.
      If you think you’ll have trouble watching Glee again, ease into it. Start by looking at pictures, then progress to the music, then maybe watch an episode that doesn’t feature Finn as much, then watch an episode that does. If you can do all that, you’re ready! Stay strong 🙂

      Reply

  7. maya
    Sep 30, 2013 @ 12:41:43

    to be honest, I’m still in denial that he’s dead. I don’t believe he’s dead. well I do but…it hasn’t hit me yet. we won’t see him on glee every again, see him express his love for lea, meet him. it’s heartbreaking.

    Reply

    • pottergleefan4
      Sep 30, 2013 @ 15:18:45

      I wanted so much for it to be a dumb, cruel joke.
      I agree though that it’ll take time to really hit. For the present, it just feels like he’s busy and away. There have been some Finn-less Glee episodes before so these new ones will just feel like that. But I think that once 5×03 airs and they’ll end Finn, we’ll finally see it as the real life end to.
      It is heartbreaking. There are so many ‘what ifs’ that it’s awful to think about it for longer than a minute. Stay strong, though, and focus on the positives ❤

      Reply

Tell Me Your Secrets And Ask Me Your Questions... <3

