The TCA and TLOS2

Hahaha acronyms, don’t you just love ’em?

TCA: The Teen Choice Awards     TLOS2: The Land Of Stories 2

Last night was quite a night. It was the 2013 Teen Choice Awards! Yaaay! As I huge award show fan, I particularly like this one because I was able to vote myself. I get a say, and that’s cool. As a Gleek, it was also really great for me because, as you should know, Darren Criss co-hosted. The other host was Pretty Little Liar’s Lucy Hale. It was kinda neat because one of my friends loves PLL and I love Glee so we were fangirling together…yet apart. 😛 Darren was an awesome host and looked, dare I say it, supermegafoxyawesomehot the entire time. Especially when he put on a leather jacket….. 😉

As I mentioned a few times, Glee was nominated for Comedy TV show. As well, Lea and Chris were nominated for Comedy Actress and Actor, respectively. Lea was also nominated for Candies Icon. Blake and Melissa were both nominated for Breakout Star and Becca was nominated for TV Villain. Chord was nominated for Male Scene Stealer and Heather was nominated for Female Scene Stealer. Out of those awards, the winners are as follows:

Glee for Choice TV Comedy

Chord Overstreet for Male Scene Stealer

Blake Jenner for Breakout Star

And lastly, quite possibly the most important of them all, Lea Michele for Choice TV Actress Comedy

I’m so thrilled that Glee and its cast won so much. I wished Chris had won, as well as the others, but at least we got some. It was entertaining show, anyways.

But what was the best part of it all, and defiantly the saddest, was when Lea came on stage. When Glee won, she didn’t come up with the cast. She had skipped the Blue Carpet before hand too, so we were all wondering where she was. But after Glee won their award and Amber and Jenna said kind words to the crowd, even mentioning Cory, they announced that Lea had won Choice TV Actress Comedy. And then she just came on stage from the back. It was really great to see her and she did look happy to have won. What was even more amazing was the speech she gave. Here, take a look. Just a note, it’s quite sad. I, and basically everyone else in the world, was bawling as we watched it.

Even as I rewatch it, I’m crying some more. Honestly, what Lea did last night was so amazing. She had avoided the press all this time and hadn’t said a word except for a few tweets, so for her to stand up and do something as public as this is amazing. I know I speak for the whole fandom when I say that we are all so proud of her. That couldn’t have been easy. And she did it all with a smile. She stayed strong, which was very inspiring. And it was so nice that Amber, Kevin and Jenna stayed on stage with her. Aside from Cory and Chris, they make up the originals. No one expected Lea to show up and no one expected her to even go up on stage, but she did by choice. She didn’t have to, but she did. And I think that is incredible. Congrats, Lea!

As for the other awards from the cast, they obviously lost. Lea and Heather lost to Miley Cyrus. Becca lost to Janel Parrish of PLL, and Chris lost to Jim Parsons from The Big Bang Theory.

Which brings me to this: I know this maybe isn’t the best thing to say, and don’t get me wrong, I’m super happy for the awards that Glee and its cast won, but maaaaaaybe it seemed just a bit rigged. Let me explain why. Lea has avoided all press since Cory’s death, which is fine. I’m glad she’s keeping to herself. But winning her first award since the event was a perfect opportunity to say something publicly and it’s even better that it’s at the award show dedicated to fans’ choices. Say she hadn’t won, then maybe the chance wouldn’t have come up. I know that after the death, there was a lot of rallying for people to vote for Lea and Glee in honor of that, even from other fandoms. It was sweet and all, but I sort of would have rathered we won or lost solely from the Glee fans, not because other people felt sorry for us. Lea deserved her award all the way, but I say that as a Gleek, so that is a bit biased, I suppose. But what really made me consider the possibility of rigged winners was when Chris Colfer didn’t win for Choice TV Actor Comedy. While there are some people who don’t looooove Lea or even Rachel, it’s very, very hard to find someone who dislikes Chris or Kurt. I was super surprised that he didn’t win. Kurt is one of the funnier Glee characters and Chris Colfer is very witty himself. Sure, the Big Bang Theory, and Jim, is funny, but I would have thought that the powerful fandom of Gleeks would have beat out that. I dunno, maybe I’m being crazy and am just upset that Chris didn’t win (or Eric Stonestreet, who would have been my second choice) and using the perfect timing of Lea’s win to blame something. Then I saw this picture:

teen choice awards watermark

And it seems that the winner isn’t voted upon, it’s full-out chosen by the producers of the show. Hmmm. Well, I don’t know how true it is, or how it really works, all I’m saying is that I believe that although Glee and Lea deserve all the awards, there MAY have been some manipulation so that Lea had a chance to say something and give the TCA more publicity. :S What do you think?

Anyways, the TCA was really fun and Darren was a great host. At the end of the show, to end it with a bang, he and Lucy dressed up in these cute animal onesies and proceeded to ‘twerk’ which is a weird, hipster dance move craze that involves the shaking of one’s booty.  It was amusing, anyhow.

Part 2 of this post is about Chris Colfer’s newest book, The Land Of Stories: The Enchantress Returns. Also known as TLOS2. The book came out August 6th and is a sequel to his first TLOS book, The Wishing Spell. I haven’t read the second one yet because I just wait for it to come into the public library and so far it hasn’t. And because my reading list is out of control right now, I’m not too anxious or worried. It looks good though.

Last night, as the TCA Blue Carpet aired via live stream, Chris Colfer also had a live stream. He didn’t attend the TCA so that was possible. His live stream was about the book and involved fans asking questions. I didn’t watch it live because I knew it’d be on Youtube later and the Blue Carpet wouldn’t be. And sure enough, within hours, it was all up. So here it is. It’s 45 mins and the video quality isn’t the best, but it’s cool. And his special guest is adorable. 😛

Take a watch if you want. There aren’t many spoilers either, so don’t be scared. If you have read TLOS2, tell me, how was it? Better or worse than TLOS?

Well, that’s all for now! 😛 I’m out of news for now. But anyways, I was thinking, is there something that YOU as readers of this blog want to see? Or is there anything that would make this blog better? I’m totally open for ideas! Hope life is going great for you! See you later! ❤

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Audrey
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 13:52:00

    I had so much fun watching TCA. Lea’s speech was tear-worthy. I had fun laughing. I feel so proud of Lea and and so happy she won. She is just…. awesome. But as I was watching TCA I got to see the glee trailer. It was cool. My wording is still awkward. I’m going into 7th grade this year…

    Reply

    • pottergleefan4
      Aug 12, 2013 @ 15:51:08

      Yeah, the TCA were great! All the performances were pretty neat too!
      Lea had everyone in tears and I know that when Glee comes back and 5×03 airs, we’ll be crying even more.
      I saw a few Glee ads on TV too, making me super excited though. 😛

      Reply

Tell Me Your Secrets And Ask Me Your Questions... <3

