‘The End Of Twerk’ Songs

Hi. I guess we’re back to New Music Monday. I’m so confused as to why, and I don’t know if next week it’ll be the same or not. I guess you just have to check in on Mondays and/or Tuesdays and see if I have songs for you or not. :S Either way, the music for this week’s episode, 5×05, called ‘The End Of Twerk’ is here today so let’s take a listen:

‘Wrecking Ball’ (by Miley Cyrus) sung by Marley
When I first heard this, I though it was Miley’s version. But no, this is Marley’s. Basically, Miley and Marley sound the same in terms of their names and their voices. Anyways, Marley’s voice isn’t as nasally, which is good, and she sings the song well, which is better. We know it’s about Jake and his infidelity. The good thing about this, for all you parents out there who will be watching the episode with their young children, MARLEY WILL BE FULLY CLOTHED.

‘On Our Way’ (by The Royal Concept) sung by ND
I’ve never heard this song before, but I think it’s my favourite of the episode. It’s fun and upbeat and doesn’t make me uncomfortable. Thirty bucks say it’ll be the closing number where ND realizes that they’ve sung some creepy songs this week and done some creepy dancing so they’re moving past that and going to be the family-friendly group we all know and love.

‘You Are Woman, I Am Man’ (from Funny Girl) sung by Rachel and Paolo
Before y’all start lighting your torches and sharpening your pitchforks, just know that Paolo is Rachel’s Funny Girl co-star and that is it. Don’t bother thinking up Rachel and Paolo ship names because it’s not going to happen. Anyways, this song is just okay. Not the best, but I think it’ll give us a good glimpse at the theatrical chemistry that Rachel should have with her co-star and give us a taste of what Rachel will be up to for some episodes to come.

‘If I Were A Boy’ (by Beyoncé) sung by Unique
A Unique solo. Joy. Why is Unique singing this, though? Doesn’t she want to be a girl? And isn’t this about a girl being mad at her boyfriend? I really hope we’re not going back to the weird Unique-catfishing-crush-on-Ryder storyline because no thank you. If you like Unique, and that’s cool, then you’ll like this song because as much as I don’t loooove the character, she does have a good voice and sings this song very well.

‘Blurred Lines’ (by Robin Thicke feat. Pharrell and TI) sung by Jake, Mr. Schue, Kitty, Bree and Artie
Um….yeah….I don’t know what to say. I do not like this song to begin with. It’s silly and stupid and gross, but super catchy. Glee’s version here is better than the original, but I’m still not loving it. Maybe because I’m distracted by the fact that Mr. Schue is singing it. That makes it super creepy. However, I did read that they sing it with the intention of pissing off Sue, in which case, they picked a good song…..if they’re trying to get suspended for even longer. Anyways, what’s done is done, so we’re all just going to have to deal with the uncomfortableness and watch some Gleeks twerk in the hallways at school!

So there you go. The songs are there. An episode of weirdly uncomfortable and confusing songs all tied up with the promise of a dumb hipster dance move. Yay. I’m sorry, I know I’m being very negative here, and don’t get me wrong, I still love Glee and will look forward to this episode all the same, but I’m just so not impressed with the songs here and I have a sneaking suspicion that the episode will just be weird. I’ll try to keep an open mind, though. Try. At least after this Twerking will be over.  

That’s all for now! See you on Friday for a recap! 🙂

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kmhands91
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 15:24:58

    I just have to say the The Royal Concept is an AMAZING band (and I like the cover that’s done in the episode) They are simply full of greatness. 😀

    Reply

    • pottergleefan4
      Nov 11, 2013 @ 15:28:47

      Lol never heard of them! But I agree, this is the best song of the episode 🙂

      Reply

      • kmhands91
        Nov 11, 2013 @ 15:31:14

        You should totally check them out! It’s worth it. And I’m kind of not sure how to feel about this episode. I have a really huge aversion to Miley Cyrus and I really hate how much I jam out to “Blurred Lines”. Smh.

      • pottergleefan4
        Nov 11, 2013 @ 15:34:36

        Okay I will! I’m always on the look out for new bands/artists.
        I feel ya, I don’t dig Miley either….a few episodes later, Glee is going to do ‘We Can’t Stop’ and I am not looking forward to that.

      • kmhands91
        Nov 11, 2013 @ 15:37:16

        Oh God. I hate that song with a fiery passion. But maybe the cover will make me like the song. haha.

        Oh and if you ever want to know about other bands just let me know! I listen to a lot of groups that aren’t mainstream or are lesser known but still totally awesome.

      • pottergleefan4
        Nov 11, 2013 @ 15:41:19

        I sure hope so because I don’t know if I’ll be able to survive it if it’s not. At least ‘Wrecking Ball’ has good lyrics!
        And yeah, I’d love to know some more bands so pass those along, maybe along with your favourite song from them so I know where to start? 😛

      • kmhands91
        Nov 11, 2013 @ 15:50:04

        For starters:

        “Chocolate” by The 1975
        “Flaws” by Bastille
        “What Are You Waiting For” by Paradise Fears
        “Didn’t See it Coming” by Parachute
        “Believer” by American Authors
        “Gimme Twice” by The Royal Concept

        And that’s just a few. haha. 😀 Hope you enjoy!

      • pottergleefan4
        Nov 11, 2013 @ 15:58:27

        Thanks so much! I’ll deffo check them out! 🙂

      • kmhands91
        Nov 11, 2013 @ 16:00:49

        No problem! 😀

Tell Me Your Secrets And Ask Me Your Questions... <3

