Glee Season 5 Christmas Music!!!

One month until Christmas!!! 🙂 Can you hear my child-like squeals? As I sit here watching Amber kick some butt on the finals of DWTS, I’m also listening to the Christmas music from Glee that just came out around half an hour ago! It’s from next week’s Christmas episode, 5×08, ‘Previously Unaired Christmas’. The Christmas album will be released on December 3rd and in stores on the 10th, I think. Anyways, this Christmas album differs from past years’ because there are only 6 songs (awww). Take a listen now!

‘Rocking Around The Christmas Tree’ (by Brenda Lee) sung by ND
Did you know that the original singer of this song, Brenda Lee, was only 13 when she recorded it? Wow. Anyways, this is a feel-good fun Christmas song and I can’t wait to see ND sing it and be all happy and Christmassy. ❤

‘Here Comes Santa Claus’ (by Gene Autry) sung by Santana, Kurt and Rachel
In this episode, Kurt, Santana and Rachel get jobs at a mall as elves. I think they sing this there. Again, this is a classic Christmas song and I think Glee does it very well.

‘Love Child’ (by The Supremes) sung by Unique
I am maybe the biggest Christmas music fan ever and I have never heard this song ever. And you want to know why? IT’S NOT A DANG CHRISTMAS SONG. Seriously, go look up the lyrics. Not a single word of holiday or Christmas or snow or Jesus. No. Get this off the album and give us a real Christmas song. Please. Like Glee, I could give you a list of perfect Christmas songs that you could have done instead. Anyways, it’s not Unique’s best.

‘Away In A Manger’ (Traditional) sung by ND, Santana, Kurt and Rachel
Not my fave Christmas song, but it’s sweet and calming. I’m guessing it’ll be the episode closer. Songs with both ND and NYC people usually are….

‘The Chipmunk Song (Christmas Don’t Be Late)’ (by Alvin And The Chipmunks) sung by Rachel, Kurt and Santana
Ummmm, what? Like no, what? I can’t even tell who is who. This is a ridiculous song. I mean, yes, it’s cute and fun and cheery, but the voices are annoying to listen to. As for the guy, his name is Cody. I don’t know who he is or why he’s there. I have a feeling he may be the Santa at the mall. I’m still trying to figure out if it would have been creepy or cute to have Mr. Schue do Cody’s part.

‘Mary’s Boy Child’ (by Jester Hairston) sung by Marley, Unique and Tina
It’s good and upbeat and happy, but not the best of the episode. I don’t really have more to say.

I can’t say I’m in love with any of these songs. Whether it’s because the episode is pretty messed up or because they just wanted it like this, the songs here are less than satisfactory, and I’m very of disappointed. What do you think? My favourite song here is ‘Rocking Around The Christmas Tree’. I wish there were more songs on the album even if they aren’t in the episode. Like a Klaine duet. I need one. Anyways, if you want to know about the Christmas episode I wrote about it the other day, so click here!

Anyways, that’s all for now! And in case you wanted to tune in, the finale of DWTS is on tomorrow night. As of 9:15 pm, it’s not 100% certain if Amber’s made it in, but by the way she’s been dancing, I think it’s probably going to happen!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ericrene93
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 10:25:39

    Thank you for this!!! BEST WAY TO START OFF MY BIRTHDAY<3

    Reply

Tell Me Your Secrets And Ask Me Your Questions... <3

